Welcome to the Township of Laurentian Valley

Laurentian Valley Township Municipal Offoce

The Township of Laurentian Valley was created on January 1, 2000.  According to the 2016 Census, the Township has a population of 9,387 persons and 3,877 households.

The Township covers an area of approximately 551.43 square kilometres located within the County of Renfrew.  Laurentian Valley is intersected by the TransCanada Highway 17 and Highway 41 and surrounds the City of Pembroke and is south of the Town of Petawawa.

There is a wide range of land use in the Township including residential and commercial development on piped municipal water and sewer systems, rural residential on wells & septic systems, farming and agriculture, agri-business and big box commercial. There are also several blocks of industrial properties in the municipality, a medium density fibreboard plant, regionally significant mineral aggregate resources (gravel pits & quarries) and forestry. Development is controlled through the Official Plan, Comprehensive Zoning By-law and various other municipal by-laws.

Laurentian Valley has a balance of small urban and rural areas with a beautiful natural heritage found in many forests, rivers and lakes throughout the Township. The Township has approximately 20 kilometres of Ottawa River frontage and includes the geographic townships of Pembroke, Stafford, Alice and Fraser.  There are a number of excellent recreation facilities in the Township run by Volunteer Committees.  Laurentian Valley also has an abundance of Crown lands within its boundaries, which border on Algonquin Park and offers easy access to excellent hunting and fishing and recreational trails (snowmobiling, snowshoeing, hiking, mountain biking, etc)